top of page

My Fitness Background

When I was 15 years old I was "that overweight girl" who would eat my lunch in the bathroom because I didn't have any friends. I was "that weird girl" who didn't participate in sports because I couldn't even run for 5 minutes. I was "that girl" who always cared about what others thought of me and whether or not they would accept me for who I was.

I would wake up every morning, look in the mirror and immediately get depressed or talk down on myself because I didn't like that person in the reflection. I knew I wanted to change so I wouldn't have to worry about eating in the bathroom or being made fun of anymore. I wanted to make a change and better my life, I wanted to stop eating fast food and better my health, I wanted to be able to play sports and be athletic. I wanted to change and be able to inspire others during my journey.

One thing that motivated me to start my fitness journey was just the fact that I could wake up and not have to worry about what negative self talk would go down before school that day. Negative self talk is huge for a lot of teenagers that don't accept themselves and I did it everyday. It seriously took a mental toll on me because I would call myself ugly or fat every single day. So that is one thing that motivated me, another thing is just to feel better and feel healthier. I wanted to be able to run a mile at school without huffing and puffing, I wanted to be able to drive past McDonalds and save my money and make a healthy meal when I got home. I wanted to be able to learn about the body and how the body worked or burned calories. I wanted to educate myself and then share that information with other people starting their fitness journey. After I started my fitness journey and lost weight, I was kind of lost. I didn't know what to eat because I was so used to eating fast food everyday which was just easy for me. I had to learn how to cook healthy food and calculate my own macros/calories. I had to make my own workout plan because I was broke and couldn't afford a coach to coach me through it. I had to pay for my own gym membership at 16 years old and make an effort to get to the gym every single day. Sometimes I would go to the gym twice a day, sometimes I wouldn't even go because I was so exhausted and didn't know what to do anymore. I went through many stages in my fitness journey..I overate, under ate, ate just right and finally found a balance.

One piece of fitness advice I would give to someone just starting their fitness journey would be to never give up and just keep pushing. There may be days where you feel like giving up but I think those are the days you become stronger. Those days make you a stronger person and not giving up makes you even stronger. Also to just live your life and make sure that fitness doesn't consume your life. There was a time where all i did was workout and worry about what went into my mouth and I lost tons of friends and family because of it. So make sure you balance out fitness, family, friends, you time, etc and don't get lost in the sauce. Make fitness a hobby and LOVE YOURSELF through the process.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Blogger Social Icon
bottom of page